TREATMENT TAILORED TO YOUR NEEDS

 
THE EUROPEAN HIP CLINIC TEAM HELPS YOUNG ADULTS WITH HIP PROBLEMS

YOUNG ADULT HIP UNIT (YAHU)

Peri-acetabulaire-osteotomieProf. Dr. Corten has specialised in the treatment of hip problems that can specifically occur in young adults, adolescents and athletes. In this context, he attended specialised training courses from the founders of these treatment methods, i.e. Prof. Dr. Reinhold Ganz and Dr. Michael Leunig, PD, at the Schulthess Clinic, in Zurich, Switzerland.

From them, Prof. Dr. Corten has learned the techniques involved in the periacetabular osteotomy, open surgical dislocation and hip arthroscopy. These techniques allow for the treatment of young patients (+16 years of age) with a hip problem without the use of a hip prosthesis. We refer to this as “hip-sparing” surgery. All these procedures are muscle-sparing. Unfortunately, some young patients already have progressed wear and tear of the joint , which makes a hip prosthesis necessary.

The main focus of these treatments is always on the muscle-sparing aspect, but also on improving the (bio-)mechanics of the joint without causing significant muscle damage. Young patients benefit all the more from the muscle-sparing technique, because they unfortunately have to expect a second operation in the long term. The muscles are always spared in both operations. This is a huge step forward with regard to the traditional treatment methods.

In addition, the intention is also to limit stigmatisation of these young patients as much as possible. Normal daily activities should be re-started as soon as possible. That is why they are encouraged to put their crutches aside as quickly as possible, and are allowed to carry out all the movements that they would normally make.

Within the European Hip Clinic, Dr. Cigdem Sarac takes care of all the young adults who are confronted with hip problems. Within the team, she has become the specialist in this field. Furthermore, the Hip Coach will also support the young patient in terms of physiotherapy, up to and including a possible resumption of sports activities. Within the Young Adult Hip Unit, decisions on the optimum treatment plan - based specifically on the needs of the patient - are made by the Hip Coach, Dr. Sarac and Prof. Corten together.

P

SPORTING ACTIVITIES

The resumption of sports activities is an important pillar within the approach of the European Hip Clinic

In order to safely resume your sports activities and to optimise your results, the European Hip Clinic team offers you a programme adapted to the goals you have agreed with them.

P

ESY CONCEPT

Standardisation reduces the chance of complications

The standardisation of each step of the procedure and the use of specially developed instruments reduces the risk of complications and muscle damage.

P

HIP COACH

A personalised physiotherapy approach to your treatment process

With the Hip Coach, the European Hip Clinic has the opportunity to reduce the pain you suffer through treatment without surgery, but also to guide you in your preparation if surgery becomes necessary, and, where appropriate, during your rehabilitation up to the resumption of your sport.

P

GRIPPER

Minimal tissue damage during EDA surgery

This invention of Prof. Dr. Corten gives the surgeon a perfect view of the operating area, causes less stress during the operation, and results in no tissue damage to the patient. This significantly reduces the risk of complications.

English
Scroll to Top

UN TRAITEMENT PERSONNALISÉ

 
L'ÉQUIPE DE HEUPPRAKTIJK AIDE LES JEUNES ADULTES AYANT DES PROBLÈMES DE HANCHES

YOUNG ADULT HIP UNIT (YAHU)

Peri-acetabulaire-osteotomieLe Professeur Corten s'est penché sur le traitement de problèmes de hanche susceptibles d'affecter spécifiquement les jeunes adultes, les adolescents et les sportifs. Pour ce faire, il a suivi une formation spécialisée chez les fondateurs de ces méthodes de traitement, à savoir le Professeur Reinhold Ganz et le Docteur Michael Leunig, PD à la Schulthess Clinic de Zurich, en Suisse.

Le Professeur Corten a appris chez eux les techniques de l'ostéotomie péri-acétabulairede la dislocation chirurgicale ouverte et de l'arthroscopie de la hanche. Ces techniques permettent de traiter le jeune patient (+16 ans) ayant un problème de hanche sans recourir à une prothèse de la hanche. Nous parlons, dans ce cas, d'opérations « visant à préserver la hanche ». Toutes ces interventions préservent les muscles. Malheureusement, certains jeunes patients présentent déjà une usure trop avancée de l'articulation, de sorte qu'une prothèse de hanche est tout de même nécessaire.

Le point essentiel de ces traitements réside toujours dans la préservation des muscles mais aussi dans l'amélioration de la (bio)mécanique de l'articulation sans occasionner de lésions musculaires significatives. La technique visant à préserver les muscles est d'autant plus avantageuse pour les jeunes patients qu'ils peuvent s'attendre à une deuxième opération à terme. Les deux opérations préservent toujours les muscles. C'est un énorme progrès par rapport aux méthodes de traitement classiques.

L'objectif est aussi de stigmatiser le moins possible ces jeunes patients. Ils doivent pouvoir reprendre au plus vite leurs activités quotidiennes normales. Voilà pourquoi ils sont encouragés à abandonner leurs béquilles dès que possible et à se permettre tous les mouvements qu'ils feraient en temps ordinaire.

Au sein de Heuppraktijk, le Docteur Cigdem Sarac se consacre à tous les jeunes adultes confrontés à des problèmes de hanche. Elle est devenue la spécialiste de l'équipe dans le cadre de cette problématique. Le Hip Coach accompagnera en outre le jeune patient via un programme de kinésithérapie jusqu'à une reprise éventuelle du sport. Au sein de la Young Adult Hip Unit, le Hip Coach, le Docteur Sarac et le Professeur Corten décident ensemble du plan de traitement le plus optimal selon les besoins spécifiques de chaque patient.

P

ACTIVITÉS SPORTIVES

La reprise du sport est un pilier essentiel dans l'approche de Heuppraktijk

Pour reprendre votre activité sportive en toute sécurité et optimiser vos résultats, l'équipe de Heuppraktijk vous proposera un programme adapté aux objectifs que vous aurez déterminés avec elle.

P

CONCEPT ESY

La standardisation réduit le risque de complications

La standardisation de chaque étape de la procédure et l'utilisation des instruments spécialement conçus réduisent le risque de complications et de dommages musculaires.

P

HIP COACH

Une approche personnalisée de votre cycle de traitement, basée sur la kinésithérapie

Grâce au Hip Coach, Heuppraktijk est à même d'atténuer vos douleurs via un traitement non chirurgical, mais aussi de vous accompagner durant la préparation de votre opération et pendant votre rééducation, jusqu'à la reprise éventuelle de votre sport.

P

GRIPPER

Minimisation des dommages tissulaires lors de l'opération EDA

Cette invention du Professeur Corten donne au chirurgien une vision parfaite de la zone d'opération, réduit son stress pendant l'opération et évite les dommages tissulaires pour le patient. Le risque de complications est ainsi fortement diminué.

Français
Retour haut de page